Cricket Australia Awards 2022, Allan Border Medal winner, Belinda Clark medal, winners list, stats, Ashes

Mitchell Starc has won his first Allan Border Medal, beating Mitchell Marsh by just one vote to be awarded the top honour on Saturday.

The left-armer took a total of 43 wickets at 24.4 across all formats during the voting period, which included him playing a key role in Australia’s 4-0 Ashes triumph, and at the T20 World Cup.

Marsh, who was player-of-the-match in the T20 World Cup final in November, enjoyed his best white ball season for Australia and was named best men’s T20I player of the year.

As voted by peers, umpires and the media, Marsh’s tally of 106 was beaten by one by Starc, who was also named men’s ODI player of the year.

Watch the CommBank Women’s Ashes Series on Kayo. Every Test, T20 & ODI Live & On-Demand. New to Kayo? Start your free trial now >

‘NEVER DREAMT OF IT’: Gardner becomes first Indigenous cricketer to win Belinda Clark Award

Marsh amassed 684 runs at 34.2 during the voting period, inlcuding an unbeaten 77 off 50 balls in a World Cup final win over New Zealand.

Starc, meanwhile, bounced back to his best in the Test arena this summer when he took a wicket with the very first ball of the Ashes series.

He went on to deliver 19 wickets at 25.36 for the series, bettered only by Pat Cummins’ haul of 21.

Nonetheless, Starc’s tally of 43 wickets across all formats in the voting period was 12 better than second on the list, Josh Hazlewood with 31 at 15.5.

Starc was named men’s ODI player of the year for his display against the West Indies in mid-2021, taking 11 wickets at 10.6 in the three-game series.

Travis Head played just four matches in the voting period — all at the Ashes — yet he came third in the AB Medal count with 72 votes.

Travis Head: Test Player of the Year | 02:20

He scored 357 runs at 59.5 and was named as Ashes player-of-the-series.

Meanwhile, Ashleigh Gardner won the Belinda Clark Award with 54 votes — seven more than Beth Mooney in second place — becoming the first indigenous player to claim the honour.

Gardner scored 181 runs at 35.1 across 10 innings, which included four half centuries, while she also took nine wickets at 33.9.

Marsh takes home T20 Player of the Year | 01:56


Allan Border Medal – Mitchell Starc

Male Test Player of the Year – Travis Head

Male ODI Player of the Year – Mitchell Starc

Male T20I Player of the Year – Mitchell Marsh

Female ODI Player of the Year – Alyssa Healy

Female T20I Player of the Year – Beth Mooney

Female Domestic Player of the Year – Elyse Villani

Male Domestic Player of the Year – Travis Head

Betty Wilson Young Cricketer of the Year – Darcie Brown

Bradman Young Cricketer of the Year – Tim Ward

Community Champion Award – Zoe Cooke

Australian Cricket Hall of Fame inductees – Raelee Thompson and Justin Langer


Mitchell Starc (107 votes)

2nd: Mitchell Marsh (106 votes)

3rd: Travis Head (72 votes)


Ashleigh Gardner (54 votes)

2nd: Beth Mooney (47 votes)

3rd: Alyssa Healy (39 votes)

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.