How to watch FIFA’s The Best awards 2021: Date, stream, nominees for Best Player, Coach, Best XI, more

FIFA’s The Best awards recognize the greatest individual talents across football, with the Best Men’s Player and Best Women’s Players set to be honored. The players nominated are similar to those who were recognized at the Ballon d’Or award ceremony and the Globe Soccer Awards.

The controversy surrounding those previous award ceremonies and the eventual winners will certainly fuel interest in the official FIFA awards.

Last year’s winners of the Best awards included Robert Lewandowski and Lucy Bronze, and attention will turn to which players will be celebrated this year. The field this year is wide open, with a number of world-class players putting up arguments to take home the awards.

When will The Best 2021 award ceremony take place?

The Best awards will take place on Monday January 17, 2022. 

MORE: Premier League top scorers

This iteration of the ceremony will be a little late, as it is usually held in October, September and December. Last year, the awards ceremony took place on Thursday December 17, 2020, with proceedings getting started at 6pm BST (1pm ET). It was a virtual event due to public health restrictions in place across the world.

This will be the sixth iteration of the awards, with the first being held in 2016. It is usually held at FIFA’s headquarters in Zurich, Switzerland, although last year’s edition took place via remote video conference due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

How to watch The Best 2021 awards

FIFA will stream The Best awards 2021 on its various media channels, including YouTube, Facebook and Twitter, as well as its official website.

  • Date: Monday, January 17, 2022
  • TV Channels: None
  • Streaming: FIFA social media channels,

Voting for The Best 2021 awards

Fans could vote for their The Best choices on, but voting has now closed.

Voting began in late November and ran until 1am GMT on December 11, 2021.

The Best Men’s Player of the Year 2021 nominees

Nominees for this year’s ceremony were announced on Monday, November 22.

MORE: Lewandowski matches Ronaldo goals mark

Players such as Lionel Messi, Robert Lewandowski and Jorginho are favourites for the award, with N’Golo Kante, Karim Benzema and Romelu Lukaku also likely to be in the mix. Messi won the 2021 Ballon d’Or despite calls for Lewandowski to take home the crown. Kylian Mbappe won the Globe Soccer Award for Player of the Year, leaving Lewandowski missing out again.

Player Position Club National Team
Karim Benzema FW Real Madrid France
Kevin de Bruyne ACM Man City Belgium
Erling Haaland FW Borussia Dortmund Norway
Jorginho CM Chelsea Italy
N’Golo Kante CM Chelsea France
Robert Lewandowski FW Bayern Munich Poland
Lionel Messi FW Barcelona/PSG Argentina
Kylian Mbappe FW PSG France
Neymar FW PSG Brazil
Cristiano Ronaldo FW Juventus/Man United Portugal
Mohamed Salah FW Liverpool Egypt

The Best Women’s Player of the Year 2021 nominees

Barcelona stars Alexia Putellas and Jennifer Hermoso are considered strong contenders after a stellar season with the Catalan side. Putellas has 12 goals and assisted 10 others in 14 league games this season, while Hermoso, the Spain and Barcelona career top scorer, has 10 goals to her name this league season.

Not a single American appears on the list, and only one from the NWSL.

Player Position Club National Team
Stina Blackstenius FW BK Hacken Sweden
Aitana Bonmati MF Barcelona Spain
Lucy Bronze RB Man City England
Magdalena Eriksson LB Chelsea Sweden
Caroline Graham Hansen RW Barcelona Norway
Pernille Harder FW Chelsea Denmark
Jennifer Hermoso FW Barcelona Spain
Ji So-yun MF Chelsea South Korea
Sam Kerr FW Chelsea Australia
Vivianne Miedema FW Arsenal Netherlands
Ellen White FW Man City England
Alexia Putellas MF Barcelona Spain
Christine Sinclair FW Portland Thorns Canada

The Best FIFA Men’s Coach 2021 nominees

Roberto Mancini and Thomas Tuchel are strong contenders for the award, after winning Euro 2020 with Italy and the 2021 Champions League with Chelsea, respectively. Mancini, however, has seen Italy on the precipice of missing out on World Cup qualification, as the nation’s status hangs in the balance. Tuchel, meanwhile, just recently successfully navigated a spat with striker Romelu Lukaku and has Chelsea challenging for the Premier League title, although those prospects have been recently dashed.

Manager Team Nationality
Antonio Conte Inter/Tottenham Italy
Hansi Flick Bayern/Germany Germany
Pep Guardiola Man City Spain
Roberto Mancini Italy Italy
Lionel Scaloni Argentina Argentina
Diego Simeone Atletico Madrid Argentina
Thomas Tuchel Chelsea Germany

The Best FIFA Women’s Coach 2021 nominees

Emma Hayes is a favourite as Chelsea Women’s manager, alongside Barcelona Women’s Lluis Cortes.

At Chelsea, Hayes led the Blues to a domestic trophy sweep in England, winning the FA Women’s Super League, the FA Cup, the League Cup, the Community Shield, and reached the women’s Champions League title game. The Blues fell in the Champions League final to Cortes and Barcelona, who won its first trophy in the European competition.

Manager Team Nationality
Lluis Cortes Barcelona Spain
Peter Gerhadsson Sweden Sweden
Emma Hayes Chelsea England
Beverly Priestman Canada England
Sarina Wiegman Netherlands/England Netherlands

The Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper 2021 nominees

Chelsea’s Edouard Mendy, Bayern Munich stalwart Manuel Neuer and Italy shotstopper Gianluigi Donnarumma make up the final three nominees.

Liverpool goalkeeper Alisson and Leicester City legend Kasper Schmeichel were cut from the shortlist.

Player Position Club National Team
Gianluigi Donnarumma GK AC Milan/PSG Italy
Edouard Mendy GK Chelsea Senegal
Manuel Neuer GK Bayern Munich Germany

The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper 2021 nominees

Ann-Katrin Berger from Chelsea is in the running for the Women’s Goalkeeper award alongside Stephanie Lynn Marie Labbe and Christiane Endler.

Hedvig Lindahl and Alyssa Naeher missed the final three cut.

Player Position Club National Team
Ann-Katrin Berger GK Chelsea Germany
Christiane Endler GK PSG/Lyon Chile
Stephanie Lynn Marie Labbe GK Rosengard/PSG Canada

FIFA Puskas Award

The Puskas Award, named after the fourth-top men’s goalscorer of all-time Ferenc Puskas, is the award for the best goal of the season.

This year, there are three nominees. Tottenham’s Erik Lamela delivered a rabona goal against Arsenal in March, Bayer Leverkusen’s Patrik Schick scored from almost the midfield stripe while on international duty with Czech Republic at the European Championship, and Porto striker Medhi Taremi stunned Chelsea at Stamford Bridge in April with an acrobatic effort.

Goals by Luis Diaz, Riyad Mahrez, and Caroline Weir among many others were cut from the list as the three finalists were announced.

Player Team Date Opponent
Erik Lamela Tottenham March 14, 2021 Arsenal
Patrik Schick Czech Republic June 14, 2021 Scotland
Medhi Taremi Porto April 13, 2021 Chelsea


FIFPro World 11 2021

At each The Best awards ceremony, the FIFPro World 11 is also announced, confirming the best ‘dream team’ of the season.

MORE: How many matches will Messi miss for COVID-19?

The award, which is voted for by professional footballers across the world, takes into account performances between October 8, 2020 and August 7, 2021.

Players from Chelsea and Manchester City have a strong claim for inclusion, as do individuals from the Italy and Argentina national teams following their respective continental successes.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.